Sports News

MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#26
Matt Chapman
AVG HR RBI
.232 10 25
Team: OaklandHt / Wt: 6-0 / 215
Position: 3BBorn: 4/28/1993 Birthplace: Victorville, California
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Athletics (2014)


Latest News
Sep. 8 9:32 PM PT10:32 PM MT11:32 PM CT12:32 AM ET0:32 ET4:32 GMT12:32 9:32 PM MST11:32 PM EST10:32 PM CST12:02 AM VEN8:32 UAE11:32 PM CT-Chapman still wasn't ready to resume baseball activity Thursday as he had hoped.
Analysis: Chapman is nursing right hip tendinitis that forced him out of Sunday's series finale against San Diego. The Gold Glove third baseman had an awful series at the plate against the Padres last weekend, going hitless in 11 at-bats and striking out in 10 of those appearances.
Sep. 6 4:18 PM PT5:18 PM MT6:18 PM CT7:18 PM ET19:18 ET23:18 GMT7:18 4:18 PM MST6:18 PM EST5:18 PM CST6:48 PM VEN3:18 UAE (+1)6:18 PM CT-Matt Chapman went 0 for 2 Sunday as the Oakland Athletics fell to the San Diego Padres 5-3. He's now batting .232 with 10 home runs this season.
Sep. 5 4:10 PM PT5:10 PM MT6:10 PM CT7:10 PM ET19:10 ET23:10 GMT7:10 4:10 PM MST6:10 PM EST5:10 PM CST6:40 PM VEN3:10 UAE (+1)6:10 PM CT-Matt Chapman went 0 for 5 Saturday as the Oakland Athletics beat the San Diego Padres 8-4. He's now batting .236 with 10 home runs this season.
Sep. 5 9:26 PM PT10:26 PM MT11:26 PM CT12:26 AM ET0:26 ET4:26 GMT12:26 9:26 PM MST11:26 PM EST10:26 PM CST11:56 PM VEN8:26 UAE11:26 PM CT-Matt Chapman went 0 for 4 Friday as the Oakland Athletics lost to the San Diego Padres 7-0. He's now batting .244 with 10 home runs this season.
Aug. 29 6:48 PM PT7:48 PM MT8:48 PM CT9:48 PM ET21:48 ET1:48 GMT9:48 6:48 PM MST8:48 PM EST7:48 PM CST9:18 PM VEN5:48 UAE (+1)8:48 PM CT-Matt Chapman went 2 for 3 with a home run and an RBI Saturday as the Oakland Athletics lost to the Houston Astros 6-3. He's now batting .252 with 10 home runs this season.
Aug. 29 3:22 PM PT4:22 PM MT5:22 PM CT6:22 PM ET18:22 ET22:22 GMT6:22 3:22 PM MST5:22 PM EST4:22 PM CST5:52 PM VEN2:22 UAE (+1)5:22 PM CT-Matt Chapman went 1 for 3 with two RBIs Saturday as the Oakland Athletics fell to the Houston Astros 4-2. He's now batting .242 with nine home runs this season.
Aug. 26 3:40 PM PT4:40 PM MT5:40 PM CT6:40 PM ET18:40 ET22:40 GMT6:40 3:40 PM MST5:40 PM EST4:40 PM CST6:10 PM VEN2:40 UAE (+1)5:40 PM CT-Chapman was scratched before Wednesday's game against the Rangers because of a headache. He did enter the game as a defense replacement in the eighth inning.
Analysis: Chapman was hit in the helmet by a pitch Tuesday but stayed in and did not suffer a concussion. Manager Bob Melvin said during pregame that Chapman had a headache after Tuesday night's game, and felt better Wednesday before the headache returned after he hit in the batting cage.
Aug. 25 8:25 PM PT9:25 PM MT10:25 PM CT11:25 PM ET23:25 ET3:25 GMT11:25 8:25 PM MST10:25 PM EST9:25 PM CST10:55 PM VEN7:25 UAE (+1)10:25 PM CT-Matt Chapman went 0 for 3 Tuesday as the Oakland Athletics topped the Texas Rangers 10-3. He's now batting .240 with nine home runs this season.
Aug. 24 8:02 PM PT9:02 PM MT10:02 PM CT11:02 PM ET23:02 ET3:02 GMT11:02 8:02 PM MST10:02 PM EST9:02 PM CST10:32 PM VEN7:02 UAE (+1)10:02 PM CT-Matt Chapman went 0 for 5 Monday as the Oakland Athletics fell to the Texas Rangers 3-2. He's now batting .246 with nine home runs this season.
Aug. 23 4:55 PM PT5:55 PM MT6:55 PM CT7:55 PM ET19:55 ET23:55 GMT7:55 4:55 PM MST6:55 PM EST5:55 PM CST7:25 PM VEN3:55 UAE (+1)6:55 PM CT-Matt Chapman went 2 for 5 with a double and an RBI Sunday as the Oakland Athletics topped the Los Angeles Angels 5-4. Chapman scored once. He's now batting .256 with nine home runs this season.
Aug. 22 4:21 PM PT5:21 PM MT6:21 PM CT7:21 PM ET19:21 ET23:21 GMT7:21 4:21 PM MST6:21 PM EST5:21 PM CST6:51 PM VEN3:21 UAE (+1)6:21 PM CT-Matt Chapman went 1 for 3 with a home run and an RBI Saturday as the Oakland Athletics lost to the Los Angeles Angels 4-3. He's now batting .250 with nine home runs this season.
Aug. 22 9:52 PM PT10:52 PM MT11:52 PM CT12:52 AM ET0:52 ET4:52 GMT12:52 9:52 PM MST11:52 PM EST10:52 PM CST12:22 AM VEN8:52 UAE11:52 PM CT-Matt Chapman went 1 for 4 with a double Friday as the Oakland Athletics topped the Los Angeles Angels 5-3. Chapman scored once. He's now batting .248 with eight home runs this season.
Aug. 21 9:32 PM PT10:32 PM MT11:32 PM CT12:32 AM ET0:32 ET4:32 GMT12:32 9:32 PM MST11:32 PM EST10:32 PM CST12:02 AM VEN8:32 UAE11:32 PM CT-Matt Chapman went 2 for 4 with two home runs and three RBIs Thursday as the Oakland Athletics topped the Arizona Diamondbacks 5-1. He's now batting .248 with eight home runs this season.
Aug. 20 9:42 PM PT10:42 PM MT11:42 PM CT12:42 AM ET0:42 ET4:42 GMT12:42 9:42 PM MST11:42 PM EST10:42 PM CST12:12 AM VEN8:42 UAE11:42 PM CT-Matt Chapman went 1 for 3 with a double Wednesday as the Oakland Athletics beat the Arizona Diamondbacks 4-1. Chapman scored twice. He's now batting .238 with six home runs this season.
Aug. 18 6:18 PM PT7:18 PM MT8:18 PM CT9:18 PM ET21:18 ET1:18 GMT9:18 6:18 PM MST8:18 PM EST7:18 PM CST8:48 PM VEN5:18 UAE (+1)8:18 PM CT-Matt Chapman went 0 for 2 Tuesday as the Oakland Athletics fell to the Arizona Diamondbacks 10-1. He's now batting .235 with six home runs this season.
Aug. 18 9:53 PM PT10:53 PM MT11:53 PM CT12:53 AM ET0:53 ET4:53 GMT12:53 9:53 PM MST11:53 PM EST10:53 PM CST12:23 AM VEN8:53 UAE11:53 PM CT-Matt Chapman went 0 for 3 with an RBI Monday as the Oakland Athletics fell to the Arizona Diamondbacks 4-3. He's now batting .240 with six home runs this season.
Aug. 16 4:42 PM PT5:42 PM MT6:42 PM CT7:42 PM ET19:42 ET23:42 GMT7:42 4:42 PM MST6:42 PM EST5:42 PM CST7:12 PM VEN3:42 UAE (+1)6:42 PM CT-Matt Chapman went 2 for 5 with a double and an RBI Sunday as the Oakland Athletics topped the San Francisco Giants 15-3. Chapman scored once. He's now batting .247 with six home runs this season.
Aug. 15 7:51 PM PT8:51 PM MT9:51 PM CT10:51 PM ET22:51 ET2:51 GMT10:51 7:51 PM MST9:51 PM EST8:51 PM CST10:21 PM VEN6:51 UAE (+1)9:51 PM CT-Matt Chapman went 0 for 5 Saturday as the Oakland Athletics beat the San Francisco Giants 7-6. He's now batting .239 with six home runs this season.
Aug. 15 10:19 PM PT11:19 PM MT12:19 AM CT1:19 AM ET1:19 ET5:19 GMT13:19 10:19 PM MST12:19 AM EST11:19 PM CST12:49 AM VEN9:19 UAE12:19 AM CT-Matt Chapman went 0 for 5 Friday as the Oakland Athletics topped the San Francisco Giants 8-7. Chapman scored once. He's now batting .253 with six home runs this season.
Aug. 15 10:19 PM PT11:19 PM MT12:19 AM CT1:19 AM ET1:19 ET5:19 GMT13:19 10:19 PM MST12:19 AM EST11:19 PM CST12:49 AM VEN9:19 UAE12:19 AM CT-Matt Chapman went 0 for 5 Friday as the Oakland Athletics topped the San Francisco Giants 8-7. Chapman scored once. He's now batting .253 with six home runs this season.
Aug. 12 4:33 PM PT5:33 PM MT6:33 PM CT7:33 PM ET19:33 ET23:33 GMT7:33 4:33 PM MST6:33 PM EST5:33 PM CST7:03 PM VEN3:33 UAE (+1)6:33 PM CT-Matt Chapman went 2 for 5 with two doubles and an RBI Wednesday as the Oakland Athletics beat the Los Angeles Angels 8-4. He's now batting .269 with six home runs this season.
Aug. 12 9:40 PM PT10:40 PM MT11:40 PM CT12:40 AM ET0:40 ET4:40 GMT12:40 9:40 PM MST11:40 PM EST10:40 PM CST12:10 AM VEN8:40 UAE11:40 PM CT-Matt Chapman went 0 for 3 Tuesday as the Oakland Athletics lost to the Los Angeles Angels 6-0. He's now batting .260 with six home runs this season.
Aug. 11 10:30 PM PT11:30 PM MT12:30 AM CT1:30 AM ET1:30 ET5:30 GMT13:30 10:30 PM MST12:30 AM EST11:30 PM CST1:00 AM VEN9:30 UAE12:30 AM CT-Matt Chapman went 3 for 5 and six RBIs Monday as the Oakland Athletics fell to the Los Angeles Angels 10-9. Chapman scored three times. He's now batting .271 with six home runs this season.
Aug. 9 4:12 PM PT5:12 PM MT6:12 PM CT7:12 PM ET19:12 ET23:12 GMT7:12 4:12 PM MST6:12 PM EST5:12 PM CST6:42 PM VEN3:12 UAE (+1)6:12 PM CT-Matt Chapman went 2 for 4 with a double, a home run and two RBIs Sunday as the Oakland Athletics topped the Houston Astros 7-2. He's now batting .246 with four home runs this season.
Aug. 8 3:40 PM PT4:40 PM MT5:40 PM CT6:40 PM ET18:40 ET22:40 GMT6:40 3:40 PM MST5:40 PM EST4:40 PM CST6:10 PM VEN2:40 UAE (+1)5:40 PM CT-Matt Chapman went 2 for 4 with a home run and two RBIs Saturday as the Oakland Athletics beat the Houston Astros 3-1. He's now batting .230 with three home runs this season.
Aug. 8 12:57 AM PT1:57 AM MT2:57 AM CT3:57 AM ET3:57 ET7:57 GMT15:57 12:57 AM MST2:57 AM EST1:57 AM CST3:27 AM VEN11:57 UAE2:57 AM CT-Matt Chapman went 2 for 6 with a double Friday as the Oakland Athletics topped the Houston Astros 3-2. Chapman scored once. He's now batting .211 with two home runs this season.
Aug. 6 3:25 PM PT4:25 PM MT5:25 PM CT6:25 PM ET18:25 ET22:25 GMT6:25 3:25 PM MST5:25 PM EST4:25 PM CST5:55 PM VEN2:25 UAE (+1)5:25 PM CT-Matt Chapman went 0 for 2 Thursday as the Oakland Athletics beat the Texas Rangers 6-4. Chapman scored once. He's now batting .196 with two home runs this season.
Aug. 6 9:09 PM PT10:09 PM MT11:09 PM CT12:09 AM ET0:09 ET4:09 GMT12:09 9:09 PM MST11:09 PM EST10:09 PM CST11:39 PM VEN8:09 UAE11:09 PM CT-Matt Chapman went 0 for 4 Wednesday as the Oakland Athletics topped the Texas Rangers 6-4. He's now batting .204 with two home runs this season.
Aug. 5 9:05 PM PT10:05 PM MT11:05 PM CT12:05 AM ET0:05 ET4:05 GMT12:05 9:05 PM MST11:05 PM EST10:05 PM CST11:35 PM VEN8:05 UAE11:05 PM CT-Matt Chapman went 2 for 4 with a home run and an RBI Tuesday as the Oakland Athletics beat the Texas Rangers 5-1. Chapman scored twice. He's now batting .222 with two home runs this season.
Aug. 4 9:20 PM PT10:20 PM MT11:20 PM CT12:20 AM ET0:20 ET4:20 GMT12:20 9:20 PM MST11:20 PM EST10:20 PM CST11:50 PM VEN8:20 UAE11:20 PM CT-Matt Chapman went 1 for 5 Monday as the Oakland Athletics beat the Seattle Mariners 11-1. Chapman scored once. He's now batting .195 with one home run this season.
Aug. 2 4:32 PM PT5:32 PM MT6:32 PM CT7:32 PM ET19:32 ET23:32 GMT7:32 4:32 PM MST6:32 PM EST5:32 PM CST7:02 PM VEN3:32 UAE (+1)6:32 PM CT-Matt Chapman went 1 for 4 Sunday as the Oakland Athletics topped the Seattle Mariners 3-2. He's now batting .194 with one home run this season.
Aug. 2 9:24 PM PT10:24 PM MT11:24 PM CT12:24 AM ET0:24 ET4:24 GMT12:24 9:24 PM MST11:24 PM EST10:24 PM CST11:54 PM VEN8:24 UAE11:24 PM CT-Matt Chapman went 0 for 5 Saturday as the Oakland Athletics topped the Seattle Mariners 3-2. He's now batting .188 with one home run this season.
Aug. 1 9:17 PM PT10:17 PM MT11:17 PM CT12:17 AM ET0:17 ET4:17 GMT12:17 9:17 PM MST11:17 PM EST10:17 PM CST11:47 PM VEN8:17 UAE11:17 PM CT-Matt Chapman went 0 for 4 Friday as the Oakland Athletics fell to the Seattle Mariners 5-3. He's now batting .222 with one home run this season.
July 29 3:40 PM PT4:40 PM MT5:40 PM CT6:40 PM ET18:40 ET22:40 GMT6:40 3:40 PM MST5:40 PM EST4:40 PM CST6:10 PM VEN2:40 UAE (+1)5:40 PM CT-Matt Chapman went 1 for 4 with a home run and an RBI Wednesday as the Oakland Athletics fell to the Colorado Rockies 5-1. He's now batting .261 with one home run this season.
July 29 9:42 PM PT10:42 PM MT11:42 PM CT12:42 AM ET0:42 ET4:42 GMT12:42 9:42 PM MST11:42 PM EST10:42 PM CST12:12 AM VEN8:42 UAE11:42 PM CT-Matt Chapman went 1 for 3 Tuesday as the Oakland Athletics lost to the Colorado Rockies 8-3. He's now batting .263 with no home runs this season.
July 27 3:45 PM PT4:45 PM MT5:45 PM CT6:45 PM ET18:45 ET22:45 GMT6:45 3:45 PM MST5:45 PM EST4:45 PM CST6:15 PM VEN2:45 UAE (+1)5:45 PM CT-Matt Chapman went 3 for 4 with a double and an RBI Monday as the Oakland Athletics beat the Los Angeles Angels 3-0. He's now batting .250 with no home runs this season.
July 26 4:16 PM PT5:16 PM MT6:16 PM CT7:16 PM ET19:16 ET23:16 GMT7:16 4:16 PM MST6:16 PM EST5:16 PM CST6:46 PM VEN3:16 UAE (+1)6:16 PM CT-Matt Chapman went 0 for 3 Sunday as the Oakland Athletics topped the Los Angeles Angels 6-4. Chapman scored once. He's now batting .083 with no home runs this season.
July 25 3:41 PM PT4:41 PM MT5:41 PM CT6:41 PM ET18:41 ET22:41 GMT6:41 3:41 PM MST5:41 PM EST4:41 PM CST6:11 PM VEN2:41 UAE (+1)5:41 PM CT-Matt Chapman went 0 for 4 Saturday as the Oakland Athletics lost to the Los Angeles Angels 4-1. He's now batting .111 with no home runs this season.
July 25 11:06 PM PT12:06 AM MT1:06 AM CT2:06 AM ET2:06 ET6:06 GMT14:06 11:06 PM MST1:06 AM EST12:06 AM CST1:36 AM VEN10:06 UAE1:06 AM CT-Matt Chapman went 1 for 5 with a triple and an RBI Friday as the Oakland Athletics topped the Los Angeles Angels 7-3. He's now batting .200 with no home runs this season.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2017 Oak 84 290 39 68 23 2 14 40 32 92 0 3 .234 .313 .472
2018 Oak 145 547 100 152 42 6 24 68 58 146 1 2 .278 .356 .508
2019 Oak 156 583 102 145 36 3 36 91 73 147 1 1 .249 .342 .506
2020 Oak 37 142 22 33 9 2 10 25 8 54 0 0 .232 .276 .535
Career 422 1562 263 398 110 13 84 224 171 439 2 6 .255 .336 .503

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2018 Oak Total 2 10 0 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .200 .200 .200
    WC 1 5 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .200 .200 .200
2019 Oak Total 2 6 0 2 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 0 .333 .500 .333
    WC 1 3 0 1 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 .333 .500 .333
Career 2 8 0 2 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 .250 .333 .250


Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2020 by STATS PERFORM.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS PERFORM is strictly prohibited.