Sports News

MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#47
John Means
ERA S K
2.28 0 69
Team: BaltimoreHt / Wt: 6-3 / 230
Position: RPBorn: 4/24/1993 Birthplace: Olathe, Kansas
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 11th Round by Orioles (2014)


Latest News
June 6 9:13 AM PT10:13 AM MT11:13 AM CT12:13 PM ET12:13 ET16:13 GMT0:13 9:13 AM MST11:13 AM EST10:13 AM CST11:43 AM VEN20:13 UAE10:13 AM CT-The Orioles placed Means on the 10-day injured list with a left shoulder strain Sunday, a day after the team's ace departed in the first inning after facing just five batters.
Analysis: Means (4-2), who pitched a no-hitter at Seattle on May 5, ranks fourth in the American League in ERA (2.28), seventh in innings pitched (71) and tied for 10th in strikeouts (69). He underwent an MRI exam Sunday morning, though the Orioles didn't have the results when they placed the southpaw on the injured list. "We're going to side with caution and see what the results say," manager Brandon Hyde said. allowed two solo home runs while recording just two outs Saturday.
June 5 4:39 PM PT5:39 PM MT6:39 PM CT7:39 PM ET19:39 ET23:39 GMT7:39 4:39 PM MST6:39 PM EST5:39 PM CST7:09 PM VEN3:39 UAE (+1)5:39 PM CT-John Means fell to 4-2, allowing two runs on three hits in 0.2 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Cleveland Indians 10-4 on Saturday. Means struck out one, ending the game with a 2.28 ERA and 0.83 WHIP on the season.
May 29 4:54 PM PT5:54 PM MT6:54 PM CT7:54 PM ET19:54 ET23:54 GMT7:54 4:54 PM MST6:54 PM EST5:54 PM CST7:24 PM VEN3:54 UAE (+1)5:54 PM CT-John Means fell to 4-1, allowing three runs on five hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Chicago White Sox 3-1 on Saturday. Means struck out four, ending the game with a 2.05 ERA and 0.80 WHIP on the season.
May 25 10:05 PM PT11:05 PM MT12:05 AM CT1:05 AM ET1:05 ET5:05 GMT13:05 10:05 PM MST12:05 AM EST11:05 PM CST12:35 AM VEN9:05 UAE11:05 PM CT-John Means allowed two runs on five hits in 7.0 innings as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Minnesota Twins 8-3 on Monday. Means struck out five, ending the game with a 1.79 ERA and 0.75 WHIP on the season.
May 19 7:22 PM PT8:22 PM MT9:22 PM CT10:22 PM ET22:22 ET2:22 GMT10:22 7:22 PM MST9:22 PM EST8:22 PM CST9:52 PM VEN6:22 UAE (+1)8:22 PM CT-John Means allowed four runs on six hits and one walk in 6.1 innings as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 9-7 on Wednesday. Means struck out six, ending the game with a 1.70 ERA and 0.75 WHIP on the season.
May 11 7:35 PM PT8:35 PM MT9:35 PM CT10:35 PM ET22:35 ET2:35 GMT10:35 7:35 PM MST9:35 PM EST8:35 PM CST10:05 PM VEN6:35 UAE (+1)8:35 PM CT-John Means allowed six hits without giving up a run in 6.0 innings as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the New York Mets 3-2 on Tuesday. Means struck out three, ending the game with a 1.21 ERA and 0.71 WHIP on the season.
May 5 3:12 PM PT4:12 PM MT5:12 PM CT6:12 PM ET18:12 ET22:12 GMT6:12 3:12 PM MST5:12 PM EST4:12 PM CST5:42 PM VEN2:12 UAE (+1)4:12 PM CT-John Means improved to 4-0, allowing zero hits in a complete-game shutout, as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Seattle Mariners 6-0 on Wednesday. Means struck out 12, ending the game with a 1.37 ERA and 0.67 WHIP on the season.
May 1 9:26 PM PT10:26 PM MT11:26 PM CT12:26 AM ET0:26 ET4:26 GMT12:26 9:26 PM MST11:26 PM EST10:26 PM CST11:56 PM VEN8:26 UAE10:26 PM CT-John Means improved to 3-0, allowing two runs on three hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Oakland Athletics 3-2 on Friday. Means struck out nine, ending the game with a 1.70 ERA and 0.84 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 25 1:06 PM PT2:06 PM MT3:06 PM CT4:06 PM ET16:06 ET20:06 GMT4:06 1:06 PM MST3:06 PM EST2:06 PM CST3:36 PM VEN0:06 UAE (+1)2:06 PM CT-John Means improved to 2-0, allowing one run on two hits and three walks in 6.1 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Oakland Athletics 8-1 on Sunday. Means struck out six, ending the game with a 1.50 ERA and 0.90 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 18 2:47 PM PT3:47 PM MT4:47 PM CT5:47 PM ET17:47 ET21:47 GMT5:47 2:47 PM MST4:47 PM EST3:47 PM CST5:17 PM VEN1:47 UAE (+1)3:47 PM CT-John Means allowed three hits and two walks without giving up a run in 7.0 innings as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Texas Rangers 1-0 on Sunday. Means struck out nine, ending the game with a 1.52 ERA and 0.93 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 13 3:36 PM PT4:36 PM MT5:36 PM CT6:36 PM ET18:36 ET22:36 GMT6:36 3:36 PM MST5:36 PM EST4:36 PM CST6:06 PM VEN2:36 UAE (+1)4:36 PM CT-John Means allowed three runs on five hits and two walks in 5.0 innings as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Seattle Mariners 4-3 on Tuesday. Means struck out five, ending the game with a 2.16 ERA and 1.02 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 7 7:42 PM PT8:42 PM MT9:42 PM CT10:42 PM ET22:42 ET2:42 GMT10:42 7:42 PM MST9:42 PM EST8:42 PM CST10:12 PM VEN6:42 UAE (+1)8:42 PM CT-John Means allowed one run on seven hits and two walks in 4.2 innings as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the New York Yankees 4-3 on Wednesday. Means struck out four, ending the game with a 0.77 ERA and 0.86 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 2 2:28 PM PT3:28 PM MT4:28 PM CT5:28 PM ET17:28 ET21:28 GMT5:28 2:28 PM MST4:28 PM EST3:28 PM CST4:58 PM VEN1:28 UAE (+1)3:28 PM CT-John Means improved to 1-0, allowing one hit over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Boston Red Sox 3-0 on Friday. Means struck out five, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.14 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2018 Bal 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 3.1 6 5 5 1 0 0 4 1.80 13.50
2019 Bal 12 11 0 - 0 31 27 0 155.0 138 68 62 23 38 0 121 1.14 3.60
2020 Bal 2 4 0 - 0 10 10 0 43.2 36 22 22 12 7 0 42 0.98 4.53
2021 Bal 4 2 0 - 0 12 12 1 71.0 46 18 18 13 13 0 69 0.83 2.28
Career 18 17 0 - 0 54 49 1 273.0 226 113 107 49 58 0 236 1.04 3.53

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2019 Bal 31 1 0 1 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 1.000 1.000 1.000
2021 Bal 12 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 54 3 0 1 0 0 0 0 1 1 0 0 .333 .500 .333


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 545 95 90 92.9 51.51
Curveball 138 82 73 77.7 13.04
Slider 76 89 83 86.2 7.18
Changeup 299 87 80 83.4 28.26

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2021 by STATS PERFORM.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS PERFORM is strictly prohibited.