Sports News

MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions

St. Louis Cardinals (91-71)


Fri. 10/11 Sat. 10/12 Mon. 10/14 Tue. 10/15 Wed. 10/16
vs. Was
L 0-2
Box | Recap
vs. Was
L 1-3
Box | Recap
@ Was
4:38 PM PT5:38 PM MT6:38 PM CT7:38 PM ET19:38 ET23:38 GMT7:38 4:38 PM MST6:38 PM EST7:08 PM VEN3:38 UAE (+1)6:38 PM CT
Preview
@ Was
5:05 PM PT6:05 PM MT7:05 PM CT8:05 PM ET20:05 ET0:05 GMT8:05 5:05 PM MST7:05 PM EST7:35 PM VEN4:05 UAE (+1)7:05 PM CT
@ Was
1:08 PM PT2:08 PM MT3:08 PM CT4:08 PM ET16:08 ET20:08 GMT4:08 1:08 PM MST3:08 PM EST3:38 PM VEN0:08 UAE (+1)3:08 PM CT

Cardinals face another ace in Nationals' Strasburg

After some dominating pitching to open the National League Championship Series, the Washington Nationals not only return home for Game 3 on Monday, they do so with another force on the mound.

Trailing 2-0 in the series, the St. Louis Cardinals will have to get their offense on track against Nationals right-hander Stephen Strasburg, who has appeared motivated for October success.

The Nationals have won all three games when Strasburg has appeared in these playoffs, including a start in the deciding Game 5 of the NL Division Series against the Los Angeles Dodgers. And while he did give up two home runs early in that one, he settled down to give his team a chance to rally late.

 MORE
Leaders
AVG: K. Wong.285
HR: P. Goldschmidt34
RBI: P. Goldschmidt97
SB: K. Wong24
W: D. Hudson16
ERA: J. Flaherty2.75
Saves: C. Martínez24
K: J. Flaherty231
NL Central
TeamWLPctGB
X-St. Louis 9171.562-
Y-Milwaukee 8973.5492
Chi Cubs 8478.5197
Cincinnati 7587.46316
Pittsburgh 6993.42622
Full Standings
General Batting (Rank)
AVG: .245 (23)
Runs: 764 (19)
Hits: 1337 (23)
Home Runs: 210 (24)
Stolen Bases: 116 (3)
OBP: .322 (17)
SLG: .415 (24)
Total Bases: 2261 (25)
General Pitching (Rank)
Earned Run Average: 3.80 (5)
Runs Allowed: 662 (5)
Saves: 52 (1)
Strikeouts: 1399 (17)
OpBA: .238 (5)
OBP: .314 (8)
SLG: .397 (4)
Run Support: 4.76 (17)
Transactions
Date Player Transactions
9/30 A. García Called Up from Minors
9/30 A. Gomber Called Up from Minors
9/30 A. Reyes Called Up from Minors
9/30 Z. Rosscup Refused Minor League Assignment - Free Agent
9/30 C. Shreve Refused Minor League Assignment - Free Agent
Show Transactions
Injuries
Date Player Status
9/1 M. Wieters Strained calf (day-to-day)
8/28 L. Thomas Fractured right wrist (on 60-day IL)
8/12 J. Martínez Sprained AC joint in right shoulder (10-day IL)
8/1 T. O'Neill Strained left wrist (10-day IL)
7/16 M. Carpenter Right foot contusion (10-day IL)
Show Injuries

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2019 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.